Latina/o Equity in U.S. Higher Education: A National Campaign for Equity Assessment Policy

According to the Hispanic Equity Report at UT Austin, Latino employees and students experience vast inequalities around student enrollments, disparities in employee compensation, the lack of diversity in positions of leadership, and more. This webinar sparks the discussion to formulate a strategy to address Latina/o Equity in higher education as a partnership with LULAC, the Texas Center for Education Policy (TCEP) at The University of Texas at Austin, and local organizations, including the National Latina/o Education Research and Policy Project (NLERAPP). The Independent Equity Committee at the University of Texas at Austin has proposed to extend the Latina/o equity initiative to other colleges and universities in Texas and California. Together, our aim is to build a national campaign and develop a plan of action for equity assessment policies in higher education.

Date: Tuesday, October 13
Time: 2:00 p.m. ET / 1:00 p.m. CT / 12:00 p.m. MT / 11:00 a.m. PT
Place A confirmation email with the link to participate in the virtual webinar will be sent to you. Please review your spam folder in case you do not see it in your inbox.

Opening Remarks:

• Domingo Garcia, LULAC National President
• Dr. Barbara Flores, CEO and Chair, National Latino/a Education Research and Policy Project

Presenters:

• Angela Valenzuela, Ph.D., Director, TCEP
• Dr. Emilio Zamora, Ph.D., Professor of History, UT Austin
• Dr. Nora de Hoyos Comstock, Ph.D., Board of Trustees, Austin Community College
• Alberto A. Martínez, Ph.D., Professor of History, UT Austin

Resources:

• Hispanic Equity Report: click here
• Policy Memorandum by Emilio Zamora Ph.D.: click here
• Austin American-Statesman, Nov.3, 2019, Editorial Board, “EDITORIAL: UT Must Show Hispanic Faculty Are Valued, Needed
• Houston Chronicle, Jan.22, 2020, Editorial Board, “EDITORIAL: Why Can’t UT Austin Hire, Keep Latino Faculty?
• UNIVISION TV, Nov.22, 2019, Mariana Veraza, “Denuncian pagos injustos para profesores hispanos en la UT en Austin
• NBC News, Nov.25, 2019, Suzanne Gamboa, “Latino Professors at the University of Texas are Paid Less, Few are in Leadership, Study Finds

Your Information

 

* Required information