

League of United Latin American Citizens

RESOLUTION TO SUPPORT THE PUERTO RICO ADMISSION ACT OF 2018, H.R. 6246

WHEREAS, LULAC is the Nation's oldest, largest, and most respected Hispano/Latino civil rights organization, established in 1929. Our mission is to seek the advancement of Hispanic Americans in the areas of education, employment, and civil rights; and

WHEREAS, Puerto Ricans have been U.S. citizens for more than a century as a result of President Woodrow Wilson's approval of the Jones Act in March of 1917. Notwithstanding, the American citizens residing in Puerto Rico do not share equal rights to those enjoyed by today's citizens of the continental United States due to Puerto Rico's status as a territory. Resultantly, Puerto Ricans endure a second-class citizenship status with a lack of representation in both chambers of the U.S.'s Congress, and in the executive branch due to an inability to vote; and

WHEREAS, just as it was a centuries old struggle for African-Americans and for women to have full access to all rights and obligations promised to American Citizens, including the right to vote and to have political representation in the political branches of the Government, so too has been the case with respect to our fellow citizens in Puerto Rico; and

WHEREAS, on both November 6, 2012, and June 11, 2017, the people of Puerto Rico declared their desire to be admitted to the United States as the 51st State of the Union plainly and loudly through a legitimate exercise of their right to political self-determination; and

WHEREAS, In fact, 97 percent of the voters chose statehood on a ballot amended to specifically comply with the United States Department of Justice requirements; and

WHEREAS, in response to the June 11, 2017 referendum, LULAC passed a resolution on July 8, 2017 at its National Convention in San Antonio, Texas in support of Statehood for Puerto Rico to end the current state of affairs because "it's morally and legally wrong for the United States of America, the democratic leader of the world, to maintain 3.3 million U.S. citizens in Puerto Rico deprived of their full-fledged U.S. citizen rights"; and

WHEREAS, on July 11, 2018, Jennifer Gonzalez-Colon, Puerto Rico's Resident Commissioner in the U.S. House of Representatives and sole representative in Congress, introduced H.R. 6246, *the Puerto Rico Admission Act of 2018*; and

WHEREAS, the Puerto Rican Admission Act of 2018 is a major first step towards realizing the democratic will of the U.S. citizens in Puerto Rico by setting forth a transition process that would result in the formal admission of Puerto Rico as a State in the Union on an equal footing and in true permanent union with the other States in all respects, effective no later than January 1st, 2021; and

WHEREAS, LULAC, the Nation's largest and oldest civil rights volunteer-based organization that empowers Hispanic Americans, fully supports self-determination for the People of Puerto Rico that already decided their ultimate political status towards statehood;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that LULAC hereby reaffirms its support of the Government of Puerto Rico and the Puerto Rican people's efforts towards attaining statehood, as was the will of the Puerto Rican electorate expressed through their suffrage on both November 6, 2012 and on June 11, 2017 by strongly supporting the passage of the Puerto Rico Admission Act of 2018, H.R. 6246. With this, LULAC demands that the 115th Congress makes Puerto Rico the 51st state of the United States of America; and

BE IT FUTHER RESOLVED that copies of this Resolution be sent to:

- 1. Hon. Donald Trump, President of the United States
- 2. Hon. Michael Pence, Vice President of the United States
- 3. Hon. Paul Ryan, Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives
- 4. Hon. Kevin McCarthy, U.S. House Majority Leader
- 5. Hon. Steve Scalise, U.S. House Majority Whip
- 6. Hon. Nancy Pelosi, U.S. House Minority Leader
- 7. Hon. Steny Hoyer, U.S. House Minority Whip
- 8. Hon. Mitch McConnell, U.S. Senate Majority Leader
- 9. Hon. John Cornyn, U.S. Senate Majority Whip
- 10. Hon. Charles E. Schumer, U.S. Senate Minority Leader
- 11. Hon. Richard Durbin, U.S. Senate Minority Whip
- 12. Hon. Jimmy Gomez, U.S. House of Representatives
- 13. Hon. José A. Serrano, U.S. House of Representatives
- 14. Hon. Luis Gutiérrez, U.S. House of Representatives
- 15. Hon. Daren Soto, U.S. House of Representatives
- 16. Hon. Nydia Velázquez, U.S. House of Representatives
- 17. Hon. Grace Napolitano, U.S. House of Representatives
- 18. Hon. Mario Díaz-Balart, U.S. House of Representatives
- 19. Hon. Raúl Grijalva, U.S. House of Representatives
- 20. Hon. Linda Sánchez, U.S. House of Representatives
- 21. Hon. Henry Cuellar, U.S. House of Representatives
- 22. Hon. John Lewis, U.S. House of Representatives
- 23. Hon. Ben Ray Luján, U.S. House of Representatives
- 24. Hon. Cedric L. Richmond, U.S. House of Representatives
- 25. Hon. Bill Flores, U.S. House of Representatives
- 26. Hon. André Carson, U.S. House of Representatives
- 27. Hon. Anthony Brown, U.S. House of Representatives
- 28. Hon. Tony Cárdenas, U.S. House of Representatives
- 29. Hon. Joaquín Castro, U.S. House of Representatives
- 30. Hon. Michelle Lujan Grisham, U.S. House of Representatives
- 31. Hon. Raul Ruiz, U.S. House of Representatives
- 32. Hon. Juan Vargas, U.S. House of Representatives
- 33. Hon. Filemón Vela, U.S. House of Representatives
- 34. Hon. Pete Aguilar, U.S. House of Representatives
- 35. Hon. Carlos Curbelo, U.S. House of Representatives
- 36. Hon. Ruben Gallegos, U.S. House of Representatives
- 37. Hon. Alex Mooney, U.S. House of Representatives

- 38. Hon. Norma Torres, U.S. House of Representatives
- 39. Hon. Nanette Barragán, U.S. House of Representatives
- 40. Hon. Salud Carbajal, U.S. House of Representatives
- 41. Hon. Lou Correa, U.S. House of Representatives
- 42. Hon. Adriano Espaillat, U.S. House of Representatives
- 43. Hon. Vicente González, U.S. House of Representatives
- 44. Hon. Rubén Kihuen, U.S. House of Representatives
- 45. Hon. Brian Mast, U.S. House of Representatives
- 46. Hon. Darren Soto, U.S. House of Representatives
- 47. Hon. Jenniffer González, U.S. House of Representatives
- 48. Hon. Robert Menendez, U.S. Senate
- 49. Hon. Marco Rubio, U.S. Senate
- 50. Hon. Ted Cruz, U.S. Senate
- 51. Hon. Catherine Cortez Masto, U.S. Senate
- 52. Hon. Ricardo Rosselló, Governor of Puerto Rico

Voted & approved by the National Assembly of the 2018 LULAC National Convention on July 21, 2018.

Domingo Garcia LULAC National President